Yarrow tinctures: medicine and natural bug spray!

Yarrow is such a wonderful plant, and it is used for so many things! It is one of my most-used tinctures for medicine, and in the summer when the bugs attack, it becomes my bug spray too! I went to this awesome ticntures/salves/creams supply store in Seattle yesterday, and they had these little mini spray bottles–they’re small enough to keep in a pocket without being super bulky! I’m super excited about them so I wanted to share this with all of you!

Here are some things Yarrow is good for (for most of these uses I would use a tincture or tea, except the topical use on cuts for which you could use not only a tincture or tea, but also a poultice):

–>It is a tonic; a diuretic; a styptic/hemostatic (can use externally to stop cuts from bleeding and can use internally to help quell hemorrhaging); expectorant; useful for colds, the flu, headaches, and fevers; opens pores to permit perspiration (helps sweat out toxins and cool down body); because sweating helps relieve body of toxins, it ends up relieving the kidneys and cleansing the blood as well; also used for stomach sickness, especially ulcers, and gastritis. And, of course, as bug spray!

How to make a tincture: A tincture is basically a some kind of herb/plant soaked in high percentage alcohol or apple cider vinegar (acv)– soaking  it in one of those two things draws the medicine out of the plant. I fill up a jar about two thirds of the way with the plant, then fill the rest of jar with Everclear (a type of alcohol I prefer using) or ACV. I prepare my tincture on a new moon, then let my tincture sit in a dark, cool, and dry place until, not the very next full moon, but the full moon right after that (so the second full moon, 6 weeks?). I do this because I want my tincture to sit through all of the moon cycles, and if I prepared it on a new moon and bottled it on the very next full moon, it wouldn’t have sat through the waning, only the waxing. Stir and shake your tincture while it is sitting through this cycle, show it some love! Then strain your tincture, and bottle it up (preferably in a brown glass bottle) and store it in a dark place. I go by the rule of a 3-4 year shelf life.

–vita

-vita

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarrow tinctures: medicine and natural bug spray!

  1. cavemanbrog says:

    Thanks!! I was just wondering the other day how long my yarrow tincture would last!

Leave a Reply

